Merseyside & West Cheshire

A message from your Regional Chairman Michael Wood

It is a real honour to step into the role of Chairman and I’m looking forward to a great year of events and activities for our region, supporting BIBA’s role in promoting and assisting brokers in what will no doubt be another challenging year ahead.  We always seem to say that the forthcoming year will be a testing one and 2018 looks like being no different with changes in legislation that will impact upon all of us, and our clients, while the continuing uncertainty around the end results of the UK’s withdrawal from the EU lingers in the background.

We will continue to host a variety of useful events for members throughout the year. We conduct a bi-annual claims forum, three risk & compliance forums and we have a number of other specific training and social events planned for 2018.  Of course we are always open to suggestions about what BIBA can do for you and would welcome your input. If there are any topics of interest, training requirements or access to facilities / events you would like then please don’t hesitate to let me or one of the committee know.

As a region we have thrown our support behind the young broker initiative which helps encourage new talent into the industry, providing guidance for young brokers as they embark on their professional careers. Kelsey Pyne is our regional Young Broker Ambassador and I would encourage you, if you have any younger colleagues, to get in touch so we can keep them up to date with any regional activities like the very successful Summer Ball which was held in September.

I need to place on record my sincere thanks to Alex Bielinski for his excellent and tireless work as Chairman over the last couple of years.  He, and the rest of the committee, put in a lot of time and effort behind the scenes to ensure that members get real quality and value out of the local events.

On behalf of all the committee we look forward to working with our members in the coming year.  Finally, we are always looking for new people to help and I would encourage anyone who might be interested to come along to one of our monthly meetings.  They’re a friendly bunch and it’s a great way to get actively involved in the regional community. Please contact smyllied@biba.org.uk

Michael Wood
Associate Director – Griffiths & Armour
mwood@griffithsandarmour.com
0151 600 2098

Alex Bielinski

Mason Owen Financial Services Ltd

Tel : 0151 255 2600

Email : alex.bielinski@mofs.co.uk

Julie Blakeley

Risk Services (NW) Ltd

Tel : 01244 351724

Email : julie.blakeley@riskservicesnw.co.uk

Phil Coffey

Butterworth Spengler Commercial Ltd

Tel : 0151 494 4400

Email : pcoffey@butterworthspengler.co.uk

Karen Collo

Hawthorn IM Ltd

Tel : 01928 853110

Email : karen.collo@hawthornIM.co.uk

Jonathan Forshaw

St Giles Insurance and Finance Services Ltd

Tel : 01517091911

Email : jf@stgilesgroup.co.uk

Ian Hoskin

Paymentshield Ltd

Tel : 01704 518500

Email : ian.hoskin@paymentshield.co.uk

Simon Kennedy

Freeway UK Insurance Services Ltd

Tel : 01928 520521

Email : simon.kennedy@freewayinsurance.co.uk

Antony Longden

Philip Williams & Company Insurance

Tel : 01925 604421

Email : antonyl@philipwilliams.co.uk

Dominic Murphy

Arthur J Gallagher

Tel : 0151 708 8090

Email : dominic_murphy@ajg.com

Kelsey Pyne

Griffiths & Armour

Tel : 0151 236 5656

Email : kpyne@griffithsandarmour.com

Andrew Turberville

Mason Owen Financial Services Ltd

Tel : 0151 255 2600

Email : andy.turberville@mofs.co.uk

Mike Wood

Griffiths & Armour

Tel : 0151 236 5656

Email : mwood@griffithsandarmour.com