BIBA Journalist of the Year Awards 2018 – open for entries

6th February 2018

BIBA Journalist of the Year Awards 2018

The British Insurance Brokers’ Association (BIBA) invites you to enter its prestigious annual Journalist of the Year Awards 2018.

Open to journalists who have written or broadcast on general insurance subjects in the last year, the awards aim to recognise the important contribution that journalists make in promoting a better understanding and awareness of general insurance issues.

The awards

National, regional and trade journalists are eligible to enter nine categories, each one carrying a prize of £800 for the winner. One highly commended entry in each category will also receive £250.

In order to help the judges understand the background of the article entered, journalists are required to submit a supporting statement of up to 150 words explaining why their article deserves to win. This will help to ensure that all factors are taken into consideration during the judging process.

The individual categories are: 

  • Trade News Award: open to trade journalists who have written technical news articles in the trade press.
  • Trade Feature Award: open to trade journalists who have written an insurance feature article for trade publications.
  • Best Consumer Advice Award: open to national and regional journalists who have written the most helpful general insurance article, providing advice, guidance and enhancing consumers’ understanding of insurance.
  • Best Personal Finance Journalist Award: open for the best all round personal finance article for its investigation, research and overall explanation of a general insurance subject.
  • Gary Hyndman Most Promising Newcomer Award: open to all journalists who are just starting out covering insurance related issues.  The Award is named in the memory of the late Gary Hyndman, who sadly passed away in March 2006. Entries are open to those who started writing on insurance issues during the last year.
  • Scoop of the Year Award: open to all journalists who were responsible for breaking an important insurance news story.
  • Best Interview / Profile Award: open to all journalists who have developed the best researched, most informative and most engaging interview with an individual or profile of an organisation within the insurance industry. 
  • Online Award: open to all entrants who have successfully embraced innovation, online or via social media technology or distributed content online or via social channels to further the understanding of general insurance issues.  This category is open to traditional and non-traditional journalists and media outlets.
  • Broadcast Award: open to all journalists who have used the medium of television or radio to further the understanding of insurance to their audience.

Criteria and submissions

The judges will look for entries which raise awareness of general insurance subjects and help the audience to gain a greater insight into general insurance issues.  Originality, style, and quality of research and investigation will also be assessed.

  • All entries (except the Gary Hyndman Most Promising Newcomer Award) require one general insurance article and a supporting statement to be provided.  Any other supporting materials sent alongside the entries will be discounted.
  • The Gary Hyndman Most Promising Newcomer Award requires two examples of work and must be accompanied by a supportive statement from the Editor (max 150 words).
  • The Scoop of the Year Award requires journalist to explain in their supporting statement how they achieved the scoop story through investigative journalism.

Print, broadcast and online pieces produced between 1 February 2017 and 1 February 2018 are eligible for submission.

The deadline for submissions is Thursday 8 March 2018.

Only emailed submissions will be accepted, please attach your article(s) as a word or PDF documents where possible.

Click here for entry form and email it, along with your entries, to Donna Musseau at [email protected]

All entrants will be considered for the overall Journalist of the Year Award, which carries a prize of £1000 and is chosen by BIBA.

Previous BIBA Journalist of the Year Award winners include: Sarah Pennells, Freelance, Callum Brodie, Post Magazine, Anthony Hilton, Evening Standard, Sam Barker, Insurance Times; Bob Howard, BBC Radio Moneybox; Josephine Cumbo, Financial Times; Dan Moore,  Which?; Ellen Bennett, Insurance Times; Stephen Womack, Mail on Sunday; Jonathan Swift, Post Magazine; James Daley, The Independent, Yvette Essen, Daily Telegraph and Sally Hamilton, Mail on Sunday.

I do hope you will take the opportunity of entering for these awards and you will be able to join us at the awards ceremony to be held at lunch time on Friday 29 June 2018 in central London.

We look forward to receiving your entries.

Yours sincerely

Steve White

Chief Executive